Advanced Options Doc Templates
Editing Doc Templates: How to enable Copy From Last Time, lock terms, hide terms, make terms compulsory and more.
Updated over a week ago

Advanced options provide you with additional settings to modify templates functions.


Contents of this article:


Functionalities

  • "Lock Layout" a template and its associated documents, so terms cannot be added, moved, or deleted

  • Allow Sign Off- allows for the author to sign the document and lock it preventing further edits.

  • "Hide Externally" the visibility of elements on Word exports and on the client view of client access forms

  • "Copy from last time" or auto-fill fields and elements with information from the last time they were completed (copy information from one document to the next).

  • "Required" Make selected fields compulsory to fill out

  • "Locked" elements so they cannot be edited (blank text fields only)

  • "All fields read-only when shared"


Viewing Advanced Options

Advanced options are located at the top of a document template.

On the top right of each template element.

There are also specific advanced options for individual fields within an element. To view, place your cursor within a specific field and click Settings. The advanced options will appear.


Option 1: Elements cannot be Added, Moved, or Deleted

The advanced option - Lock Layout, essentially 'locks' the format of documents created using the template. Click here for information about the difference between documents and templates. 

1) To enable this option, click on the Lock Layout option.

2) Scroll down to the bottom of the template and save.

3) When creating a new document using this template, you (and other members of your organization) will be unable to move or delete saved elements or add new elements to the document.


Option 2: Allow Sign Off

When you enable Allow Sign Off- this allows the author of the document or Director Roles to sign off and lock the document preventing further edits.


Option 3: Element Not Visible Externally

The Hide Externally function hides fields and elements so that they are not visible on both Word/PDF exports and on the client view of client access forms. Click here to find out more information about Client Access Forms. You enable this advanced option on specific terms or fields you wish to hide.

1 ) On each term you wish to hide, select the tick box - Hide Externally (as shown below).

2) To hide a specific field click on the field then click on the settings icon and click on Hide Externally.

3) Scroll down to the bottom of the template and save.

When exporting to Word/PDF from this template or a created document, the desired information will be hidden and the client or contact would not be able to see it.

The fields or terms will also be hidden from the client view of any client access forms created from the template. 


Option 4: Copy from Last Time

The Copy from Last Time functionality allows you to auto-fill fields and elements with information from the last time they were completed. It does not matter whether the elements and fields are on a different template i.e. you can use this functionality to copy client information automatically from their intake form into your chart note. Enable this advanced option on templates that contain specific elements or fields you wish to copy information into. 

1 ) On each term you wish to auto-fill information from previous, select the tick box - Copy all from last time (as shown below).

2) If you only wish to auto-fill information into a specific field within an element, Kalix also allows you to do this. Select your desired field by clicking. A pop-up appears (as shown below), choose the option - Copy from previous.

3) Scroll down to the bottom of the template and save.

4) When creating a new document using this template, the desired information will be auto-filled. 


Option 5: Required

The Required function, makes selected fields on a template, compulsory to fill out on the related client document or client access form. If these fields are not completed, Kalix highlights the terms containing these compulsory fields.

1) On each field, you wish to make compulsory, select it by clicking on it. A pop-up appears (as shown below), choose the option - Should be filled in.

3) Scroll down to the bottom of the template and save.


Option 6: All Fields Read Only

This makes the element or field a read-only when shared and the client or contact can not enter any information on it

1) On each term you wish to make read-only select the option All Fields Read-Only when shared.

2) Scroll down to the bottom of the template and save.

Now, this field cannot be edited on any documents or client access forms created using the template.

Did this answer your question?