This article describes how to set-up Kalix to automatically sharing with clients - online forms, electronic agreements, and other documents as part of the appointment messages (appointment notices and reminders).


Other Options

Multi-Share Documents

Kalix also supports sharing multiple documents as part of the same message using the Share Documents button.


Sending Single Documents to Clients & Contacts (From Within Documents)

Additionally, single documents can also be shared with clients and contacts from within the specific document.


How it Works

Clients access the shared documents using a secure web link and access code. Kalix can send these as part of automated appointments (appointment notices and reminders) through email, SMS (text message), or text-to-voice.

The link is the clients' temporary login to the shared documents. The code is the key (or password) used to unlock the document and also provides extra security to prevent breaches.

Note: Kalix does not send the documents via email, text-to-voice, or SMS. It only shares the web link and code. The documents are viewed and completed (if applicable) within Kalix, in an encrypted HIPAA compliant environment.


Account Set-up For Document Sharing

Before sharing documents, a few set-up tasks are required. You must enable and set up Kalix's messaging feature including appointment notices and reminders.

In addition, you need to (if not already done so), set up your document templates.


​​ ​​


Associating Document Templates with Your Appointment Types

Attach the documents you wish to automatically share as part of appointment messages (appointment notices and reminders). You can share different documents for different appointment types.

To associate documents, navigate to your Appointment Types page. Click on the appointment type you wish to edit.

Scroll down to the Shared Documents section and select Add.

In the pop-up window, select one of the Documents you will share as part of this appointment's messages. Click Add. Repeat until you have selected all documents you want to share.

Click Save at the bottom of the page.


Shared Documents Link - Action Required

If sending appointment messages (appointment notices and reminders) using SMS (text message) or text-to-voice, you need to customize your appointment message templates to include the auto text field - Shared Documents Link AND an informational text description for clients around the use of the link, etc.

The purpose of the auto text field - Shared Documents Link is to tell Kalix where within the message to add the document share link and code.

There are two different appointment message templates* that can be edited:

  • The appointment type-specific message templates in the Appointment Notice and Appointment Reminder Override sections of the Appointment Type page.

*If using custom appointment messages for this specific appointment type, add the Shared Documents Link auto text field and description to the Appointment Notice and Appointment Reminder Override. If not, just modify the default message templates under Messaging Settings.

For email appointment messages - Kalix automatically adds any document share links.


A Note on Opt-in

If you choose to use opt-in messaging (not supported for fax), clients or contacts must opt-in to Kalix's messaging system before appointment messages (hence online documents) can be received.


Online Form Submission

The documents' link (and hence, the client's or contact's access to the shared documents), is valid until the day after the associated appointment or for 14 days (whichever is longer). The share link can be clicked on, and documents viewed and edited as many times as needed until the time is up or the submit button is selected.
​​


You can also get an email notification when it is submitted.

​​


Viewing Shared Documents

You can view the shared documents and their status, at any time, even before your client has submitted them. The shared documents will be saved to the documents section of the client's cover page.

Notification Section in Documents

​​If the notification is red- it usually means the link has expired and the client did not submit the documents.

If the notification is green- it means the document were submitted by the client.

If the notification is gray- it means the documents have not been completed.

The date on the notification indicates when the access to the documents will expire.

If you open a shared document, you are able to see when (or if) the recipient has last accessed it.


Manually Submit

If for any reason the client doesn't submit the document, you can open the document and click on the Close button drop down arrow, the select Manually Submit.


Removing Document Access

If you wish to remove the client's access to a shared document before the 14 days is up, please follow the steps below:

Open the document (saved to the documents section of the client's cover page). Unselect the Share with others checkbox on the top of the page. Click Save.

Did this answer your question?