This article describes how to securely share multiple documents as part of the same message using the Share Documents button.


Contents of this article:


Share Documents through Appointment Messages

Kalix also supports automatically sharing with clients - online forms, electronic agreements, and other documents as part of the appointment messages (appointment notices and reminders).


Sending Single Documents to Clients & Contacts (From Within Documents)

Additionally, single documents can also be shared with clients and contacts from within the specific document.


How Document Sharing Works

Clients and contacts access the shared documents using a secure web link and access code. Kalix can send documents via email, SMS (text message), or text-to-voice.

The link is their temporary login to the shared documents. The code is the key (or password) used to unlock the document and also provides extra security to prevent breaches.

​​

​​ ​
Note: Kalix does not send the documents via email, text-to-voice, or SMS. It only shares the web link and code. The documents are viewed and completed (if applicable) within Kalix, in an encrypted HIPAA compliant environment. Please click here to find out more about this feature and HIPAA compliance.


Account Set-up For Document Sharing

Before sharing documents, a few set-up tasks are required. You must enable and set up Kalix's messaging feature and assign a messaging method against the client's or contacts' details page.

In addition, you need to (if not already done so), set up your document templates.

​ ​​


Customize the Shared Documents Message Template (Optional)

Customize the email, SMS, and text-to-voice message associated with multi-shared documents via the Messaging Settings page.

Select edit Message Templates under the Shared Documents Message Templates section of this page.

A pop-up window will appear. Choose whether you wish to modify the email, SMS (text message), or text-to-voice message template.

Complete your desired changes to the message template and click save.

Note: the auto text field Link (Required) must be included somewhere in the message template. This auto text field is where Kalix will add the secure link and code that the recipient uses to access the shared documents.


Sharing Documents

To share documents, find the client you wish to share documents with. Click on the purple search icon on the far left and use the search field to find the client by name.

Once the client is selected, click on Share Documents. ​ ​

The Share Documents screen will appear. Choose whether you wish to share existing client documents or create new documents by selecting templates.

Choose the documents you wish to share, followed by the Share button at the bottom of the window.


The message editor will appear. You can send the documents to the associated client or one of their contacts e.g primary care physician. Check the appropriate radio button to make your choice.
​​


Sharing with a Contact

If sending the documents to contacts, place your cursor into the - Search Contact field to find the contact and select. Kalix will automatically display contacts associated with the client. Alternatively, use keywords to search your entire contact list.

Next, select the method you are using to share the documents. Kalix will automatically select the client or contact's default messaging method.

Note: you can choose a method other than the default, as shown below.
​​

You can edit the message (if needed). When you are happy, click - Send.


A Note on Opt-in

If you choose to use opt-in messaging (not supported for fax), clients or contacts must opt-in to Kalix's messaging system before online documents can be received (note you can queue online documents to go out before the opt-in is accepted).


Online Form Submission*

The documents' link (and hence, the client's or contact's access to the shared documents), is valid for 14 days. The share link can be clicked on, and documents viewed and edited as many times as needed, until the 14 days are up, or the submit button is selected.
​​


If a document is not read-only, you can also get an email notification when it is submitted.

​​* Not applicable for fax


Viewing Shared Documents

You can view the shared documents and their status, at any time, even before your client or contact has submitted them. The shared document will be saved to the documents section of the client's cover page.

​​If you open a shared document, you are able to see when (or if) the recipient has last accessed it.


Removing Document Access

If you wish to remove the client's or contact's access to a shared document before the 14 days is up, please follow the steps below:

Open the document (saved to the documents section of the client's cover page). Unselect the Share with others checkbox on the top of the page. Click Save.

Did this answer your question?