Kalix has many measures in place to make sure you do not lose changes to documents and templates. This support document will describe some of them. 

Autosaving

When you open a document or template to edit it, Kalix is saving a copy of everything entered. Kalix does this in case anything happens and you are unable to save your work.

If browser closes suddenly, and your document contains unsaved changes or if you navigate away into another part of Kalix, you can still recover your work. Click on docs on the top header followed by New then Doc. On the New Doc page (the page that you select the template), you will see the notification shown below.
  

Click on the document/template's name (which is a link) to open it. Now save the document/template.
  

Working Copy

A document that has never been saved is called a "Working Copy". If you have never saved the document you are working on, but you navigate away for it, e.g. your computer fails, you can still recover the file. 

Note: we limit users to having only one "working copy" saved at a time (one document that has never been saved). 

Just locate the document by clicking on docs on the top header followed by New then Doc. On the New Doc page (the page that you select the template), you will see the notification shown above. Click on the document/template's name (which is a link) to open it. Now save the document/template.

As an additional safety measure, if you try to create a new document when an unsaved one exists, you will see the notification below. Click on the Recover button to view the unsaved doc, then click save and close it.
  

  

Saving your Document

Kalix supports having multiple saved documents or templates with unsaved changes opened at the same time. These unsaved changes can be recovered at any time.

We suggest that as soon as you create a new document, click save and then save. After being saved once, Kalix will auto-save all changes to your document even if you do not click save again.
  

  

Error message when saving

If an error message occurs when you are trying to save a document or Kalix times out, refresh the page (tap the circular arrow located on the top of the webpage, as shown below in Chrome or press F5 on your keypad), the document should reload.

 After refreshing the page, please re-save the document.

  

Internet Connection is Lost

If you lose internet connection, make sure that internet connection is restored and click the Reconnect link as shown below.
  

  

You will receive the notification that the internet connection regained (as shown below). Continue work as previously.
  

  

Your Session has Timed Out

For security reasons, if you leave Kalix open for 1 hour without any activity, Kalix will log you out. This is to prevent others from accessing your account while you are away from your computer. If you have a document, chart note or template open at the time, Kalix will recover this for you.

You will see this notification below. Click on OK.
  


Log back into Kalix. You can re-commence work as previously.
  

You Save Over Your Document or Delete It

If you save over a document or template (and wish to recover a prior version) or delete it by mistake, please contact support and we can recover your work for you. When contacting us, let us know the approximate time and date your first created this doc and the time and date you saved over it. 

Did this answer your question?